National Scholarships Office  banner


DAAD Study Scholarship

Website: https://www.daad.org/en/find-funding/graduate-opportunities/study-scholarship/

For More Information Contact: National Scholarships Office – scholarships@umd.edu

Who Can Apply: Students in their last year of undergraduate studies at an accredited US or Canadian university; US or Canadian citizens or permanent residents; Foreign nationals who live in the USA or in Canada by the time of application deadline are eligible, if your last degree was obtained in the US/Canada, or you will have received a degree in the US/Canada before your scholarship starts (all other foreign nationals may need to apply via a different DAAD office); Recent BA/BS or MA/MS graduates who completed their last degree no longer than 6 years ago; US/Canadian students in the first year of a master’s degree program in Germany may apply to fund their second year; All majors.

IMPORTANT: Applicants may not have been living in Germany for more than 15 consecutive months by the time of application deadline.

Description: Highly qualified final year undergraduate students or those who have received an undergraduate degree of all disciplines may apply for the DAAD Study Scholarship for a full master's degree program at a German university or for study at a German university as part of a postgraduate or master's degree program completed in the home country.

Please note--for graduate-level research grants, see here: https://www.daad.org/en/find-funding/graduate-opportunities/research-grants/

Award Amount: Tuition and fees are provided by the scholarship. Monthly stipends are approximately €750. DAAD will cover health insurance and provide a flat rate subsidy for travel costs. In addition, limited funds are available for a rent subsidy and family allowance.

Duration: For a postgraduate or master's degree completed in Germany: between 10 and 24 months depending on the length of the chosen study program. For a study period in Germany as part of a postgraduate or Master's degree completed in a foreign country: Usually one academic year (October 1, 2018-July 31, 2019) ; an extension is not possible.

National Deadlines: 11 PM Central European Time (5 PM EST/4 PM CST/3 PM MTN/2 PM PST) on November 4. Some materials must be sent by mail with a postmark date of November 4. See website for details.


National Scholarships Office
2403 Marie Mount Hall, University of Maryland
College Park, MD
email: scholarships@umd.edu | phone: 301.314.1289 | fax: 301.314.0085
 https://www.daad.org/en/find-funding/graduate-opportunities/study-scholarship/